States in Malaysia

Malaysia is situated in South East Asia. It comprises of Peninsular Malaysia bordering with Thailand in the North and Singapore in the South, and East Malaysia in the islands of Borneo. Both Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia is separated by South China Sea.

Peninsular and East Malaysia
Peninsular and East Malaysia

There are 14 states in Malaysia which can be grouped into Northern Region states, Central Region states, Southern Region states, East Coast Region states and Eastern Malaysia states.

Northern Region states consists of Kedah, Pulau Pinang (Penang), Perak and Perlis.

Central Region states consists of Wilayah Persekutuan (Kuala Lumpur), Wilayah Persekutuan (Putrajaya), Selangor and Negeri Sembilan.

Southern Region states consists of Melaka (Malacca) and Johor.

East Coast Region states consists of Pahang, Terengganu and Kelantan.

Eastern Malaysia states consists of Sabah, Sarawak and Wilayah Persekutuan (Labuan).

States in Peninsular Malaysia
States in Peninsular Malaysia
States in East Malaysia
States in East Malaysia

Read more details on all the states of Malaysia:

Northern Region
Kedah Darul Aman
Pulau Pinang (Penang)
Perak Darul Ridzuan
Perlis Indera Kayangan

Central Region
Wilayah Persekutuan – Kuala Lumpur
Wilayah Persekutuan – Putrajaya
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Negeri Sembilan Darul Khusus

Southern Region
Melaka Darul Azim (Malacca)
Johor Darul Ta’zim

East Coast Region
Pahang Darul Makmur
Terengganu Darul Iman
Kelantan Darul Naim

Eastern Malaysia
Wilayah Persekutuan – Labuan