Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) is also known as The National University of Malaysia. UKM was established on May 18, 1970. UKM initially started operating from Lembah Pantai, Kuala Lumpur in 1970. In October 1977, it moved to its present location in Bangi, a green valley of 1,096 hectares.

UKM also has a medical campus in Kuala Lumpur which houses the Faculty of Medicine (Pre-clinical), Faculty of Health Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry and Faculty of Pharmacy.

UKM Medical Centre (UKMMC), which is located in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur is to meet the needs of medical services education as well as medical research. UKMMC consists of a hospital, the Faculty of Medicine and the Institute of Medical Molecular Research (UMBI).

UKM has 13 faculties and 16 research institutes, offering a wide variety of academic programmes both in the arts and sciences.

Field of Studies in Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)UKM offers 75 undergraduates programmes and 264 postgraduates programmes in 13 faculties and 16 research institutes in the following field of studies:

  • Architecture
  • Business
  • Dentistry
  • Economic & Managements
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Health Science
  • Humanities
  • Information Technology
  • Islamic Studies
  • Law
  • Medical
  • Pharmacy
  • Science & Technology
  • Social Sciences

Faculties, Research Institutes and Centres in Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

Faculties in UKM

  • Faculty of Islamic Studies
  • Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Economics and Management
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Information Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • UKM-Graduate School of Business (UKM-GSB)
  • Faculty of Pharmacy

Research Institutes in UKM

  • Institute of The Malay World and Civilisation (ATMA)
  • Institute for Environment and Development (LESTARI)
  • Institute for Malaysian and International Studies (IKMAS)
  • Institute of Microengineering and Nanoelectronics (IMEN)
  • Medical Molecular Biology Institute (UMBI)
  • Institute of Occidental Studies (IKON)
  • Institute of Space Science (ANGKASA)
  • Institute of Systems Biology (INBIOSIS)
  • Solar Energy Research Institute (SERI)
  • Fuel Cell Institute
  • Institute of Islam Hadhari (HADHARI)
  • Institute of Ethnic Studies (KITA)
  • Institute of West Asian Studies (IKRAB)
  • South East Asia Disaster Prevention Research Institute (SEADPRI-UKM)
  • Institute of Visual Informatics (IVI)
  • Institute of Climate Change (IKP)

Centres in UKM

  • Centre for General Studies
  • Centre for Graduate Management
  • Centre for Academic Advancement
  • Centre for Research And Instrumentation Management
  • Centre for Educational Extension
  • Co-Curriculum Accreditation Centre
  • Centre for Corporate Planning And Leadership
  • Permatapintar National Gifted Centre
  • Centre for Collaborative Innovation
  • Centre for Youth Empowerment
  • Centre for Information Technology

Facilities in Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

Below are the facilities available in UKM:

  • Students College
  • Pavilion with Synthetic Track
  • University Hotel
  • Guest House
  • Banking
  • Post Office
  • Cafeteria
  • Hall
  • Transportation
  • Mosque
  • Internet and Wifi Hotspot
  • Health Center
  • Library
  • 24 Hours Security
  • Teres Eko Niaga

Contact Details of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia/National University of Malaysia,
43600 UKM, Bangi Selangor, MALAYSIA.

Tel: +603 8921 5555
Fax: +603 8921 4097

E-mail : pkk [at] ukm [dot] edu [dot] my
Website: http://www.ukm.my