Complete List of Private Universities & University Colleges in Malaysia (2017)

The establishment of private universities and university colleges were made possible with the passage of the Private Higher Educational Institutions Act 1996 [Act 555]. Prior to that, private institutions of higher learning existed but were not authorized to confer their own degrees.Instead, they acted as preparatory institutions for students to undertake courses of instructions in preparation for externally conferred degrees.

All the private institute of higher learning come under the Private Higher Educational Institutions Act 1996. This act allows private university and university colleges to provide tertiary education and to confer their own degree. Below is a list of private universities and university colleges in Malaysia.

Searchable List of Private Universities and University Colleges in Malaysia

List of Private Universities and University Colleges in Malaysia

Below is a dynamic searchable list for private universities and university colleges in Malaysia. Start typing in the search box to narrow down the list. You can search by university name, state or city/town in the search box.

UniversityStateCity/TownAccepting International Students?
AIMST UniversityKedahBedongYes
Al-Bukhary International University (AIU)KedahAlor Setar
Allianze University College Of Medical Sciences (AUCMS)Pulau PinangKepala Batas
Asia e University (AeU)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
Asia Metropolitan University (AMU)SelangorCherasYes
Asia Pacific University of Technology and Innovation (APU)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur / Bukit JalilYes
BERJAYA University College of HospitalityWilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
Binary University of Management & Entrepreneurship (BUME)SelangorPuchongYes
City University College of Science and Technology (City UC)SelangorPetaling JayaYes
Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences (CUCMS)SelangorCyberjayaYes
First City University College (formerly known as KBU International College)SelangorPetaling Jaya / Bandar UtamaYes
HELP UniversitySelangorShah Alam / Seksyen U4Yes
Infrastructure University Kuala Lumpur (IUKL)SelangorKajangYes
International Medical University (IMU)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur / Bukit JalilYes
International University Of Malaya Wales (IUMW)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
INTI International UniversityNegeri SembilanNilaiYes
KDU University CollegeSelangorShah AlamYes
KDU Penang University CollegePulau PinangGeorge TownYes
Kolej Universiti Poly-Tech MARA Kuala Lumpur (KUPTM)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
Kuala Lumpur Metropolitan University College (KLMUC)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
LIMKOKWING University of Creative TechnologySelangorCyberjayaYes
MAHSA UniversityWilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
Management and Science University (MSU)SelangorShah AlamYes
Manipal International University (MIU), MalaysiaNegeri SembilanNilaiYes
Nilai UniversityNegeri SembilanNilaiYes
Quest International University Perak (QIUP)PerakIpohNo
Raffles University Iskandar MalaysiaJohorJohor BahruYes
SEGi UniversitySelangorPetaling Jaya / Kota DamansaraYes
Sunway UniversitySelangorBandar SunwayYes
Taylor's UniversitySelangorSubang JayaYes
Tunku Abdul Rahman University College (TARUC)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurNo
UCSI University Kuala Lumpur CampusWilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur / CherasYes
UCSI University Sarawak CampusSarawakKuchingYes
UCSI University Terengganu CampusTerengganuMarangYes
UNITAR International UniversitySelangorPetaling Jaya / Kelana JayaYes
Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN Putrajaya)SelangorKajangYes
Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN Pahang)PahangBandar Muadzam ShahYes
Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR)SelangorKajang / CherasYes
Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR), PerakPerakKamparYes
Al-Madinah International University (MEDIU)SelangorShah AlamYes
DRB-HICOM University of Automotive MalaysiaPahangPekanYes
INSANIAH University College (KUIN)KedahKuala KetilYes
International Medical University (IMU), Clinical Campus SerembanNegeri SembilanSerembanNo
International University College Of Arts And Sciences (IUCAS)SelangorPetaling Jaya / Kota DamansaraYes
International University College of Technology Twintech (IUCTT)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur / Bandar Sri DamansaraYes
International University College of Technology Twintech (IUCTT), Kelantan CampusKelantanKota BharuNo
Kolej Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Selangor (KUIS)SelangorKajangYes
Kolej Universiti Islam Melaka (KUIM)MelakaKuala Sungai BaruYes
Kolej Universiti Islam Pahang Sultan Ahmad Shah (KUIPSAS)PahangKuantanYes
Kolej Universiti Islam Perlis (KUIPs)PerlisPadang BesarYes
Universiti Sultan Azlan Shah (USAS) - Kolej Universiti Islam Sultan Azlan Shah (KUISAS)PerakKuala KangsarYes
Widad University CollegePahangKuantan
TATI University College (TATIUC)TerengganuKemamanYes
Linton University CollegeNegeri SembilanMantinYes
GlobalNxt UniversityWilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurNo
Malaysia University of Science and Technology (MUST)SelangorPetaling JayaYes
Multimedia University (MMU), Cyberjaya CampusSelangorCyberjayaYes
Multimedia University (MMU), Johor CampusJohorIskandar PuteriYes
Multimedia University (MMU), Melaka CampusMelakaBukit BeruangYes
Open University Malaysia (OUM)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
Perdana UniversitySelangorSerdangYes
Universiti Islam MalaysiaSelangorCyberjayaNo
Universiti Kuala Lumpur British Malaysian Institute (UniKL BMI)SelangorGombakYes
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Institute For Product Design And Manufacturing (UniKL IPROM)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala Lumpur / CherasYes
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Institute Of Medical Science Technology (UniKL MESTECH)SelangorKajangNo
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Malaysia France Institute (UniKL MFI)SelangorBangiYes
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Malaysia Spanish Institute (UniKL MSI)KedahKulimNo
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Malaysian Institute of Aviation Technology (UniKL MIAT)SelangorDengkilYes
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Malaysian Institute of Chemical and Bioengineering Technology (UniKL MICET)MelakaAlor GajahYes
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Malaysian Institute of Marine Engineering Technology (UniKL MIMET)PerakLumutYes
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Malaysian Institute Of Technology (UniKL MITEC)JohorJohor Bahru / Bandar Seri AlamYes
Universiti Kuala Lumpur Royal College of Medicine Perak (UniKL RCMP)PerakIpohYes
Universiti Selangor (UNISEL) Bestari Jaya CampusSelangorBestari JayaYes
Universiti Selangor (UNISEL) Shah Alam CampusSelangorShah AlamYes
Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP)PerakSeri IskandarYes
Universiti Tun Abdul Razak (UNIRAZAK)Wilayah PersekutuanKuala LumpurYes
University Malaysia of Computer Science and Engineering (UniMy)Wilayah PersekutuanPutrajayaYes
Vinayaka Mission International University College (VMIUC)Pulau PinangButterworthNo
Wawasan Open University (WOU)Pulau PinangGeorgetownYes
KPJ Healthcare University College (KPJUC)Negeri SembilanNilai